Redistribution of Parliamentary Constituencies, 1947.—After the completion of the 1941 Census the redistribution required by the British North America Act following each decennial census was postponed. A resolution to that effect was presented to Parliament and forwarded to London in the form of an Address to His Majesty the His Majesty caused a Bill to be laid before the Parliament of the United Kingdom for the enactment of the provisions of the resolution; this was duly passed through all stages by July 22, 1943. The Bill provided that "notwithstanding anything in the British North America Acts, 1867 to 1940, it shall not be necessary that the representation of the provinces in the House of Commons be readjusted. in consequence of the completion of the decennial census taken in the year One Thousand Nine Hundred and Forty-One, until the first session of the Parliament of Canada commencing after the cessation of hostilities between Canada and the German Reich, the Kingdom of Italy and the Empire of Japan". During the first session of the Twentieth Parliament, the House of Commons and the Senate of Canada petitioned the Imperial Government, requesting an amendment to Section 51 of the British North America Act. As a result, that Section of the Act was repealed and the following substituted therefor:—

- "(1) The number of members of the House of Commons shall be Two hundred and fifty-five and the representation of the provinces therein shall forthwith upon the coming into force of this section and thereafter on the completion of each decennial census be readjusted by such authority, in such manner, and from such time as the Parliament of Canada from time to time provides, subject and according to the following Rules:
 - (a) Subject as hereinafter provided, there shall be assigned to each of the provinces a number of members computed by dividing the total population of the provinces by Two hundred and fifty-four and by dividing the population of each province by the quotient so obtained, disregarding, except as hereinafter in this section provided, the remainder if any, after the said process of division.
 - (b) If the total number of members assigned to all the provinces pursuant to Rule One is less than Two hundred and fifty-four, additional members shall be assigned to the provinces (one to a province) having remainders in the computation under Rule One commencing with the province having the largest remainder and continuing with the other provinces in the order of the magnitude of their respective remainders until the total number of members assigned is Two hundred and fifty-four.
 - (c) Notwithstanding anything in this section, if upon completion of a computation under Rules One and Two, the number of members to be assigned to a province is less than the number of senators representing the said province, Rules One and Two shall cease to apply in respect of the said province, and there shall be assigned to the said province a number of members equal to the said number of senators.
 - (d) In the event that Rules One and Two cease to apply in respect of a province then, for the purpose of computing the number of members to be assigned to the provinces in respect of which Rules One and Two continue to apply, the total population of the provinces shall be reduced by the number of the population of the province in respect of which Rules One and Two have ceased to apply and the number Two hundred and fifty-four shall be reduced by the number of members assigned to such province pursuant to Rule Three.
 - (e) Such readjustment shall not take effect until the termination of the then existing parliament.
- "(2) The Yukon Territory as constituted by c. 41 of the Statutes of Canada, 1901, together with any part of Canada not comprised within a province which may from time to time be included therein by the Parliament of Canada for the purposes of representation in parliament, shall be entitled to one member."

Accordingly, by the Representation Act, 1947 (c. 71, Statutes of 1947) the total membership in the House of Commons was increased from 245 to 255. The representation of Quebec was increased from 65 to 73, of Ontario from 82 to 83, of Nova Scotia from 12 to 13 and of British Columbia from 16 to 18. New Brunswick,